National standard methods

National Standard Methods in PDF Format

National Standard Methods are available below in PDF Format. To access them in Microsoft Word Format you will need to login

COMMENT ON NATIONAL STANDARD METHODS

KEY:

I = Issued
UR / I = Issued and Under Review
UR = Under Review
D = Draft

WD = Withdrawn
C = Contact Standards Unit

National Standard Methods – Bacteriology SOPs

Some National Standard Methods are available in Italian

Back to Top

Ref No Title Status

Issue No

Issue Date

BSOP 1

Investigation of ear swabs and associated specimens

I

8.1

Mar 08

BSOP 2

Investigation of eye swabs and canalicular pus

I

5

Mar 08

BSOP 4

Investigation of mouth swabs

I

6

Feb 08

BSOP 5

Investigation of nose swabs

I

6

Feb 08

BSOP 6

Investigation of specimens for Bordetella species

I

6.1

May 05

BSOP 9

Investigation of throat swabs

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOP 10

Processing of faeces for Clostridium difficile

I

1.2

Mar 08

BSOP 11

Investigation of skin, superficial, and non-surgical wound swabs

I

4.1

Aug 06

BSOP 14

Investigation of abscesses and post-operative wound and deep-seated wound infections

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOP 15

Investigation of bile

I

5

Apr 08

BSOP 17

Investigation of tissues and biopsies

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOP 19

Investigation of sinus aspirate

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOP 20

Investigation of intravascular cannulae and associated specimens

I

5

May 08

BSOP 22

Investigation of cerebrospinal fluid shunts

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOP 23

Investigation of gastric aspirates and infection screen swabs from neonates

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOP 25

Investigation of continuous ambulatory peritoneal dialysis fluid

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOP 26

Investigation of fluids from normally sterile sites

I

4.1

May 05

BSOP 27

Investigation of cerebrospinal fluid

I

5

Apr 08

BSOP 28

Investigation of genital tract and associated specimens

I

4.1

May 05

BSOP 29

Investigation of specimens for screening for MRSA

I

5

Jul 07

BSOP 30

Investigation of faeces specimens for bacterial pathogens

I

6

Sep 07

BSOP 31

Investigation of specimens other than blood for parasites

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOP 36

Investigation of Specimens For Ectoparasites

I

1

Jun 06

BSOP 37

Investigation of blood cultures (for organisms other than Mycobacterium species)

I

5

Aug 05

BSOP 38

Investigation of Bone Marrow

I

1

Nov 07

BSOP 39

Investigation of dermatological specimens for superficial mycoses

I

1

Mar 07

BSOP 40

Investigation of specimens for Mycobacterium species

I

5

Jul 06

BSOP  41

Investigation of Urine

I

6

May 08

BSOP 42

Investigation of bone and soft tissue associated with Osteomyelitis

D

N/A

N/A

BSOP 44

Investigation of Prosthetic Joint Infection samples

D

N/A

N/A

BSOP 45

Susceptibility Testing

I

2

Oct 06

BSOP  47

Investigation of specimens for Legionella species

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOP 51

Screening for Meningococci

I

1.1

May 05

BSOP 52

Investigation of intraocular fluids and corneal scrapings

I

5

Apr 08

BSOP 55

Investigation of gastric biopsies for Helicobacter pylori

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOP 57

Investigation of Bronchoalveolar Lavage, Sputum and Associated Specimens

I

2

May 08

BSOP 58

Processing Swabs For Group B Streptococcal Carriage

I

2.1

Jun 06

Number of Issued Bacteriology SOPs: 25

National Standard Methods – Bacteriology Identification

Back to Top

Ref No Title Status

Issue No

Issue Date

BSOPID 1

Introduction to the preliminary identification of medically important bacteria

I

1.4

Feb 08

BSOPID 2

Identification of Corynebacterium diphtheriae, Corynebacterium ulcerans and Corynebacterium pseudotuberculosis

D

N/A

N/A

BSOPID  3

Identification of Listeria species, non-toxigenic Corynebacterium species and other non-sporing gram-positive rods

I

2

Oct 07

BSOPID 4

Identification of Streptococcus species, Enterococcus species and morphologically similar organisms

I

2.1

Sep 07

BSOPID 5

Identification of Bordetella pertussis and Bordetella parapertussis from selective agar

I

2.1

Sep 07

BSOPID 6

Identification of Neisseria species

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOPID 7

Identification of Staphylococcus species, Micrococcus species and Rothia species

I

2.1

Sep 07

BSOPID 8

Identification of Clostridium species

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOPID 9

Identification of Bacillus species

I

2.1

Sep 07

BSOPID 10

Identification of aerobic actinomycetes

D

N/A

N/A

BSOPID 11

Identification of Moraxella species and morphologically similar organisms

I

2

Aug 07

BSOPID 12

Identification of Haemophilus species and the Hacek group of organisms

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOPID 13

Identification of Pasteurella species and morphologically similar bacteria

I

2.1

Sep 07

BSOPID 14

Identification of non-sporing, non-branching anaerobes

D

N/A

N/A

BSOPID 15

Identification of anaerobic actinomycetes

D

N/A

N/A

BSOPID 16

Identification of Enterobacteriaceae

I

2

Nov 07

BSOPID 17

Identification of glucose non-fermenting Gram-negative rods

I

2

Apr 07

BSOPID 18

Identification of Legionella species

I

2

Nov 07

BSOPID 19

Identification of Vibrio species

I

2

Nov 07

BSOPID 20

Identification of Shigella species

I

2

Nov 07

BSOPID 21

Identification of Yersinia species from faeces

I

2

Nov 07

BSOPID 22

Identification of Escherichia coli O157

I

2

Nov 07

BSOPID 23

Identification of Campylobacter species

I

2

Nov 07

BSOPID 24

Identification of Salmonella species

I

2

Nov 07

BSOPID 25

Identification of anaerobic Gram-negative rods

D

N/A

N/A

BSOPID 26

Identification of Helicobacter species

I

2

Feb 08

Number of Issued Bacteriology ID SOPs: 18

National Standard Methods – Food

Back to Top

Ref No Title Status

Issue No

Issue Date

F 2

Preparation of Samples and Dilutions

I

1.4

May 05

F 10

Aerobic Plate Count at 30°C: Surface Plate Method

I

1.4

May 05

F 11

Aerobic Plate Count at 30°C: Spiral Plate Method

I

1.4

May 05

F 12

Enumeration of Staphylococcus aureus

I

1.4

May 05

F 13

Detection of Salmonella species

I

3

Jun 07

F 14

Enumeration of Clostridium perfringens

I

2.4

May 05

F 15

Enumeration of Bacillus cereus and other Bacillus species

I

1.4

May 05

F 16

Enumeration of Escherichia coli in Raw Molluscs by the Multiple Tube Technique

I

4.2

May 05

F 17

Detection of Escherichia coli O157 by Automated Immunomagnetic Bead Separation

I

3

May 08

F 18

Detection and Enumeration of Enterobacteriaceae

I

1

Dec 05

F 19

Detection and Enumeration of Listeria monoctyogenes & other Listeria species

I

2

Dec 07

F 20

Direct Enumeration of Escherichia coli

I

1.4

May 05

F 21

Detection of Campylobacter species

UR

N/A

N/A

F 22

Enumeration of ß-glucuronidase positive Escherichia coli – Most Probable Number method

I

1

Dec 05

F 23

Enumeration of Enterobacteriaceae by the Colony Count Technique

I

1.4

May 05

Number of Issued Food SOPs: 14

National Standard Methods – Guidance Notes

Back to Top

Ref No Title Status

Issue No

Issue Date

QSOP 2

Local document control of documents issued by Technical Services. The Health Protection Agency
UR / I
4.2
Sep 05
QSOP 4

Uncertainty of Measurement in Testing
I
5
Aug 05
QSOP 5

Handling and transport of samples (for the purposes of UKAS accreditation)
UR / I
3.2
Sep 05
QSOP 10

Traceability and use of thermometers in UKAS accredited laboratories
I
4
Aug 07
QSOP 12

Avoiding cross-contamination risks in the food laboratory
UR / I
4.2
Sep 05
QSOP 13

Auditing in Health Protection Agency laboratories
UR
N/A
N/A
QSOP 17

Handling of formal food samples in the laboratory
I
4.1
Aug 05
QSOP 18

Recommended minimum internal quality control in food microbiology testing laboratories
UR / I
4.2
Sep 05
QSOP 19

Specification for food and dairy products request forms
I
4.1
Aug 05
QSOP 20

Specification and standard comments for dairy products report forms
I
4.1
Aug 05
QSOP 21

Specification and standard comments for food report forms
UR / I
3.2
Sep 05
QSOP 22

Minimum performance testing requirements for food and dairy standard methods
UR / I
3.2
Sep 05
QSOP 23

Commercial and in-house diagnostic tests: Evaluations and Validations
I
4
Jan 07
QSOP 27

Quality assurance in the diagnostic virology and serology laboratory
I
5
Feb 07
QSOP 29

Protocol for involvement of HPA Laboratories and staff in the investigation of food, dairy products and waterborne disease
UR / I
3.2
Sep 05
QSOP 30

Laboratory diagnosis of legionella infections in the HPA
WD
N/A
N/A
QSOP 31

Surveillance of polio in the UK
I
3.3
Nov 05
QSOP 33

European Directive on in vitro diagnostic medical devices (98/79/EC)
I
4
Jul 07
QSOP 36

Corrective and preventive action
I
4
Jan 07
QSOP 37

Procedure for dealing with presumptive pathogens isolated from ready-to-eat foods
I
4.1
Aug 05
QSOP 38

Good laboratory practice when performing molecular amplification assays
I
3
Aug 06
QSOP 39

Food and water law sources for food, water and environmental laboratories
UR / I
4.1
Sep 05
QSOP 42

Microbiological examination of CSFs, that may contain agents of spongiform encephalopathies
UR / I
2.2
Sep 05
QSOP 44

Microbiological investigation of patients with acute lymphadenopathy and fever
UR
N/A
N/A
QSOP 45

Installation, operation, maintenance and performance testing of the Dynal Bead Retriever
I
2.1
Apr 08
QSOP 46

Aminoglycoside and glycopeptide assays in clinical microbiology laboratories
I
1
Jan 07
QSOP 47

Chlamydial Zoonotic Infections
D
N/A
N/A
QSOP 48

Investigation of Viral Encephalitis and Meningitis
UR
N/A
N/A
QSOP 49

Safe use of plastic bags for incubation of food samples
I
1.1
Oct 07
QSOP 50

Requirements of Food Examiners, Experts Witnesses and Witnessess of Fact Acting For/On Behalf of the Health Protection Agency
I
1.2
Aug 05
QSOP 51

Laboratory detection and reporting of bacteria with extended spectrum ß-Lactamases
I
2.2
May 08
QSOP 52

Inoculation of culture media (formerly BSOP 54)
I
1
Feb 08
QSOP 53

Recommendations for the screening of specimens for Corynebacterium species
UR
1
Aug 05
QSOP 55

Investigation of Vesicular Rashes
I
1
Nov 05
QSOP 56

Investigation of Red Rash
I
1
Jan 07
QSOP 57

The Microbiological Examination of Water Samples
UR / I
2
Dec 05
QSOP 58

Presumptive diagnosis of Enterobacter sakazakii infection associated with powdered infant formula
UR
N/A
N/A
QSOP 59

Investigation of Toxoplasma Infection in pregnancy
I
1
Nov 06
QSOP 60

Respiratory viruses
D
N/A
N/A
QSOP 63

Assessment of point of care tests in Microbiology
D
N/A
N/A

Number of Issued Guidance Notes SOPs: 31

National Standard Methods – Test Procedures

Back to Top

Ref No Title Status

Issue No

Issue Date

BSOPTP 2

Aesculin hydrolysis test

I

1.1

May 05

BSOPTP  3

Agglutination test

UR

1.1

May 05

BSOPTP 5

Bile solubility test

UR

1.1

May 05

BSOPTP 8

Catalase test

UR

1.2

Jun 06

BSOPTP 10

Coagulase test

UR

3

Oct 05

BSOPTP 12

Deoxyribonuclease test

UR

1.1

May 05

BSOPTP 19

Indole test

UR

1.1

May 05

BSOPTP 21

Motility test

UR

1.1

May 05

BSOPTP 22

Nagler test

UR

1.1

May 05

BSOPTP 24

ONPG (ß-galactosidase) test

UR

1.1

May 05

BSOPTP 25

Optochin test

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOPTP 26

Oxidase test

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOPTP 27

Oxidation and fermentation of glucose test

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOPTP 29

Porphyrin synthesis (ala) test

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOPTP 30

Potassium hydroxide test

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOPTP 32

Changing the phase of Salmonella test

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOPTP 34

Thermonuclease activity test

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOPTP 36

Urease test

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOPTP 38

X and V factor test

UR

N/A

N/A

BSOPTP 39

Staining Procedures

I

1

Mar 07

Number of Issued Test Procedures SOPs: 2

National Standard Methods – Milk and Dairy

Back to Top

Ref No Title Status

Issue No

Issue Date

D 1

Preparation of samples and decimal dilutions

I

2.4

May 05

D 2

Plate count test at 30°C

I

3.1

May 05

D 3

Plate count test at 21°C (pre-incubated)

I

3.1

May 05

D 4

Enumeration of coliforms – colony count at 30°C

I

2.4

May 05

D 5

Enumeration of coliforms and presumptive Escherichia coli by the most probable number (MPN) technique

I

2.4

May 05

D 6

Determination of peroxidase activity (Storch test) in milk

I

2.4

May 05

D 7

Determination of alkaline Phosphatase Activity in Pasteurised Milk and Cream – Fluorimetric Method

I

1.4

May 05

Number of Issued Milk and Dairy SOPs: 7

National Standard Methods – Virology

Back to Top

Ref No Title Status

Issue No

Issue Date

VSOP 2

Gastroenteritis: sporadic cases

I

5

Jul 07

VSOP 3

Gastroenteritis: Outbreaks

I

6

Aug 07

VSOP 4

Hepatitis B diagnostic serology in the immunocompetent (including Hepatitis B in pregnancy

UR / I

4.1

June 03

VSOP 5

Investigation of Hepatitis C Infection

UR

N/A

N/A

VSOP 6

Hepatitis, jaundice and abnormal LFTs

I

2.2

Nov 05

VSOP 8

Vertical HCV transmission algorithm

I

1

Nov 07

VSOP  10

Blood borne virus testing in dialysis patients

I

1

Feb 08

VSOP 11

Anti-HIV Screening

UR

N/A

N/A

VSOP 12

Preparation of coated grids for electron microscopy

I

5.1

Aug 06

VSOP 13

Electron Microscopy: Flotation (direct) method

I

5

Feb 07

VSOP 14

Electron Microscopy: Differential Centrifugation (double-spin method)

I

5

Feb 07

VSOP 15

Electron microscopy: ammonium sulphate precipitation

I

5

Sep 07

VSOP 16

Investigation of clinical specimens by electron microscopy using solid phase immune electron microscopy

I

5

Sep 07

VSOP 17

Isolation of herpes simplex virus associated with herpes genitalis

I

4

Jul 07

VSOP 18

Complement fixation tests

I

2

Jul 06

VSOP 20

Nucleic Acid Extraction by the Boom Method

UR

N/A

N/A

VSOP 21

Isolation of Viruses associated with infections of the eye: Keratoconjunctivitis

I

2

Feb 07

VSOP 22

Immunofluorescence and isolation of viruses from respiratory samples

I

1

Jul 07

VSOP 23

Investigation of human herpes viruses (excluding herpes genitalis)

I

2

Feb 06

VSOP 24

Isolation of enteroviruses and parechoviruses

I

2

May 06

VSOP 25

Real-Time Quadriplex PCR for the detection of Influenza

C

1

Nov 06

VSOP 26

Epstein-Barr Virus serology (formerly VSOP 6.2)

I

3

Mar 08

VSOP 27

Hepatitis A virus acute infection serology (formerly VSOP6.3)

I

2.4

Oct 07

VSOP 28

Cytomegalovirus serology (formerly VSOP6.4)

I

2.4

Oct 07

VSOP 30

Investigation of erythrovirus (parvovirus) B19 in pregnant women exposed to rash illness

UR

N/A

N/A

VSOP 31

Management of confirmed erythrovirus (parvovirus) B19 infection in pregnancy

UR

N/A

N/A

VSOP 32

Investigation of rubella in pregnant women of unknown rubella immunity status exposed to rash illness

UR

N/A

N/A

VSOP 33

Pregnant patient in contact with rash illness

I

2.2

May 05

VSOP 34

Investigation of pregnant patient with rash illness

I

2.2

May 05

VSOP 35

Investigation of Cytomegalovirus infection by Roche Lightcycler PCR

I

2.1

Aug 07

VSOP 36

Operation of the Roche MagNA Pure LC automated nucleic acid extraction robot

I

2

May 06

VSOP 37

Chlamydia Infection – Testing by Nucleic Acid Amplification Test (NAATs)

I

2

Feb 08

VSOP 38

Detection of SARS-CoV by reverse transcription PCR

C

1.2

May 05

VSOP 39

Procedure for the care and propagation of cell cultures for virus isolation

I

1

May 06

VSOP 40

RT-PCR (Block Based) for Influenza H5 viruses

I

3.3

Nov 06

VSOP 41

Real-Time RT-PCR (Taq Man) for influenza A H5 viruses

I

4.1

May 06

VSOP 42

RT-PCR for the detection of influenza A viruses

I

1.3

May 06

VSOP 43

Investigation of viral encephalitis

UR

N/A

N/A

VSOP 44

Serological Diagnosis of Syphilis

I

1

Nov 07

VSOP 45

Haemadsorption of viruses

I

1

Aug 06

VSOP 46

European Real-Time RT-PCR for Influenza A H5 viruses

I

1.1

May 06

Number of Issued Virology SOPs: 32

National Standard Methods – Water

Back to Top

Ref No Title Status

Issue No

Issue Date

W 1

General technique for the detection and enumeration of bacteria by negative pressure membrane filtration

I

4.1

Apr 07

W 2

Enumeration of coliform bacteria and Escherichia coli by membrane filtration

I

4.1

Oct 07

W 3

Enumeration of enterococci by membrane filtration

I

3

Aug 06

W 4

Colony count by the pour plate method

UR

N/A

N/A

W 5

Enumeration of Clostridium perfringens by membrane filtration

I

3.1

May 05

W 6

Enumeration of Pseudomonas aeruginosa by membrane filtration

I

3

Dec 07

W 7

Detection of Salmonella species

I

3

Jul 06

W 8

Detection of Campylobacter species in water

I

3

Oct 07

W 9

Enumeration of Aeromonas species by membrane filtration

I

1.3

May 05

W 10

Enumeration of Staphylococcus aureus by membrane filtration

I

3.3

May 05

W 12

Detection and enumeration of Legionella species by filtration and centrifugation

I

1.2

Aug 06

W 13

Detection and enumeration of Legionella species by centrifugation

I

1.2

Aug 06

W 14

Detection and enumeration of Legionella species by positive pressure membrane filtration

I

1.2

Aug 06

W 15

Detection and enumeration of Legionella species in biofilms and sediments

I

1.2

Aug 06

W 16

Detection of Escherichia coli O157 by automated immunomagnetic separation

I

4

Mar 06

W 17

Isolation and identification of Acanthamoeba species

I

2.3

May 05

W 18

Enumeration of coliforms and Escherichia coli by Idexx (Colilert 18) Quanti-TrayTM

I

2.3

May 05

W 22

Enumeration of viable micro-organisms: Aerobic colony count by membrane filtration method

I

1

Dec 07

Tinggalkan komentar